This semester has been a roller coaster of family emergencies for me. I have used most all of my PTO and I am praying that no one gets sick at home during this last stretch before break! But in my own needs for absence I have found a refreshing reminder of why it is important to remember my students’ needs.

It is easy to forget that students are constantly fighting their way through life. Nothing is ever easy for a teenager and most of the time they are impacted on a deeper level. As a high school chemistry teacher, I get frustrated with lack of math skills, lack of studying or the overall lack for want of a challenge. It is easy to forget the trials that impact my students. Sometimes, we need a reminder that we are all doing the best we can, even when it doesn’t seem like it.

Take a moment and tell your students how proud you are of all their achievements. They’ve come a long way since August.

 

